News Flash

Home - City Spotlight

Posted on: February 13, 2020

Board and Commission Members Recognized for Service

2019 Board.Commission Volunteers

Four members of the City of Marshalltown’s boards and commissions were recognized at a program held on Monday, February 10th, for achieving milestone years of service in 2019 or for long-standing service to the community.  Mayor Greer honored the following individuals (pictured left to right in the photo):

  • Robert Wenner- 5 years of service on the Board of Adjustment- Robert began his service on the Board of Adjustment immediately after he completed a term on the City Council.  He has shown a willingness and dedication to serve
  • David Norris- 40 years of service on the Fisher Community Center Board of Trustees- David originally started his service on this board when it was called the Municipal Art Gallery Trustees, but though the name changed many years ago, David has remained committed to ensuring the Fisher Community Center remains a community gathering place as well as a home for non-profits.  His care for the building and his role is evident in his follow-up on what’s happening around the building and always offering to help.
  • Sharon Greer- 24 years of service on the Planning and Zoning Commission- Sharon resigned her position on Planning and Zoning, which she had held since 1995, in order to become a judge on the Iowa Court of Appeals.  Her critical-thinking, as well as forward-looking vision for the community was put into play into multiple plans which have guided the development of Marshalltown for the last two decades and beyond.
  • Norm Bach- 15 years of service on the Investment Advisory Board- Norm has taken his many years of experience in community banking and volunteering in the community and put it to good use on the Investment Advisory Board.  He provides recommendations to help ensure the City receives the most money from investments as well as ensuring our financial policies are up to date.

Others who achieved milestone years of service but were not present include the following:

  • Keith Bloomquist- 5 Years on the Planning and Zoning Commission
  • Nancy Harris- 5 Years on the Civil Service Commission
  • Julie Squires- 20 Years on the Fisher Community Center Board of Trustees
  • Leon Lamer- Service on the Solid Waste Commission from 2003 to 2019

The City of Marshalltown requires a number of volunteers to perform a number of required duties through a variety of boards and commissions.  If you are interested in serving, please click here for more information.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home - City Spotlight